Russian generals attend a briefing in the Defense Ministry in Moscow, Russia, Friday, May 5, 2017. Russia's military says the agreement setting up four de-escalation zones in Syria will go into effect at midnight. The military also says the deal, which was signed by Russia, Iran and Turkey in Kazakhstan the day before, could be extended to more areas of the war-torn country. The sign on top of the map reads Syrian safe zones. (AP/Pavel Golovkin)

Understanding Syria’s New De-escalation Zones

Russia’s “de-escalation zones” in Syria are essentially the same thing U.S. proposed “safe zones” and “no-fly zones.”

Sign Up For The Best Of MintPress, Delivered To Your Daily Inbox.

Sign up for our daily digest.